It’s Not Always About (Riding) the Bike

Before I ever injured myself last year I knew I need to work on my flexibility. Had you offered me $100 to touch my toes, I don’t know that I would have come out the other side of that with any more money in my pocket. It was pretty bad. 15 years of a desk job coupled with hard riding and no stretching or foam rolling was not a good recipe for remaining injury free.

It wasn’t that I was opposed to the idea, but it was time I wasn’t willing to put in. Starting with my hamstring injury, I made up my mind to not just hammer my muscles, but to work on actively healing them. I got a standing desk and set my mind to standing through entire work day. Today, I’m proud to report I spend the majority of my day standing (the exception being meetings).

I also went to work on increasing my flexibility. My approach to this was two fold: to stretch and foam roll after my rides and then to also stretch with more intensity on my off days. I decided that I could leverage some of the standard stretching techniques as well as looking to some yoga to accomplish my goal.

Here are some of my favorite yoga poses:

Wide leg child’s pose

Supine spinal twist

Pigeon pose

Reclining Hand-to-Big-Toe Pose

The good news is that I think it’s working…

Leave a Reply

